Thursday, November 29, 2012

Lockbox Changes for Federal Tax Payments

The U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the U.S. Treasury Department's Financial Management Service (FMS) are making changes to the tax lockbox network, and Virginia taxpayers and preparers will be affected.

Virginia tax payments had previously gone to St. Louis, which is one of two lockbox operations (along with Atlanta) closing effective Dec. 31, 2012. Individual taxpayers in Virginia, Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee will now send their payments to Louisville, Ky.

Read the VSCPA's article for more information and the appropriate addresses for each form.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for submitting a comment on! We appreciate your engagement.